Nav

Use Layers in Anypoint Visualizer

This topic describes how to work with layers in Anypoint Vizualizer.

Adding an API, Application, or Proxy to a Layer

There are 2 ways of classifying a node to a layer. Using properties, or through the UI.

Setting the layer through properties

To automate the classification of nodes into layers, users can use the property anypoint.platform.visualizer.layer=[name]. This property can be configured in the application’s properties file, or at deployment time through Runtime Manager UI or API.

When this property is used, the nodes will automatically appear in the specified layer, and if the layer doesn’t exists it will be automatically created. Node layer can be reassigned through the UI.

Setting the layer through the UI

By default when you view an environment using Anypoint Visualizer, none of the nodes in the application are assigned to a layer. You can assign a node to an existing layer. The following procedures are also applicable for changing the layer of a node.

  1. Select the application node you want to add to a layer.

    Result: The Details panel for the node appears in the right-hand pane as shown in the following image:

    Select Node

  2. In the Details panel, expand the drop-down list next to Layer as shown in the following image:

    Select Layer

  3. Select the layer you want from the drop-down list.

Result: The node you selected appears within the layer as shown in the following image:

Node in Layer

Create a New Layer

In addition to the default layers provided by Anypoint Visualizer, you can create new layers to customize the view of your application network.

  1. Select the node you want to add to a new layer.

  2. From the drop-down list in the Details panel, select New Layer …​.

  3. Enter a name for your layer in the dialog box, then click Create Layer.

Result: The node appears in the new layer. You can add additional nodes to this layer as necessary.

Delete a Layer

You can delete layers from Anypoint Visualizer as required. Deleting a layer does not delete the nodes.

  1. In the visualizer display, click inside of the layer you want to delete. Do not click a node within the layer.

  2. Click the Delete Layer icon above the Details panel.

  3. Click Delete Layer to confirm.

Result: Anypoint Visualizer automatically adjust the network display. Nodes that were part of the deleted layer no longer have a layer assigned.

Reorder layers

You can reorder the layers from Anypoint Visualizer:

  1. In the visualizer display, click inside of the layer you want to delete. Do not click a node within the layer.

  2. Use the arrows in the Details panel to move the layer up/down relative to the other layers.