Contact Free trial Login

Visualizer Views

Visualizer editors can create auto-discoverable views that provide a single source of truth and that are accessible to their team members across environments.

Views display your saved filter selection, including:

  • Selected environments

  • Selected tags

  • Selected nodes in the list of services

  • New services deployed that match the selected environments and tags

  • If the Show dependents and dependencies option is selected and the a service is deployed and related to a selected service

Views that you have access to appear in a list in the View card (click the drop-down arrow to see the list). This gives you easy access to all the views that are available to you, and saves you time because you don’t need to readjust filters every time you access Visualizer to get the view that is relevant to you.

Defined Views

As a Visualizer editor, you can create views that provide a consistent, high quality source of truth for the architecture of each of your organization’s projects. Any Visualizer user who has permission for the included environments can see these auto-discoverable views in a drop-down list in the View card. Only editors can create, rename, and edit defined views.

These views provide team members with a topological view of the apps that are specific to the areas they are responsible for. Providing a dynamic view for team members ensures their ability to troubleshoot their projects more quickly and easily, and promotes architectural consistency.

Create a Defined View

Only users with the Visualizer Editor permission can create defined views.

  1. In the top navigation bar, on the right of the view name, click the drop-down arrow.

  2. Click +New.

  3. In the New view dialog, enter a Name for the view, and click Save.

  4. Configure the view by selecting which environments, tags, and services to include.

  5. Click Save.

You can also create a new view by selecting Save as from the drop-down menu to save your current filter selection updates as a new view and preserve the original view.

When you save a view, it saves both your Production and Sandbox configurations.

Once you save the view, it becomes accessible to other users, meaning that any user who has access to the apps in the environment sees the view in their list of views.

Edit a View

Users can make changes to their private view’s filters, and save them. However, only users with the Visualizer Editor permission can edit defined views.

  1. Make the desired changes to the current filters.
    An asterisk appears next to the view name until you click Save in the View card.

  2. Click Save.

  3. (Visualizer editor only) Click Save as to save your updates as a new view and preserve the original view.

    visualizer save as new view

Rename a View

Users can rename their private view, but only users with Visualizer Editor permission can rename defined views.

  1. Click the drop-down arrow next to Save, and click Rename.

    visualizer rename view
  2. In the Rename view dialog, enter a new Name, and click Save.

Share a View

Sharing a defined view is automatic in the sense that when a new view is created and saved, it is visible in the view list of users who have access to the environment and apps in the view.

You can also click Copy Sharing URL from the drop-down arrow next to Save and send it to the user with whom you want to share the view.

visualizer share view

Delete a View

Only users with the Visualizer Editor permission can delete views.

  1. Click the drop-down arrow next to Save, and select Delete.

  2. Click Delete again.

Private View

When you access Visualizer the first time, your private view is displayed. Each subsequent time you access Visualizer, you are returned to the view you last accessed. Your private view includes defined views, providing a complete picture of the projects to which you have access. In your private view, you can:

  • Edit and save which apps are included in your private view

  • Rename your private view

  • Discard changes you made to your private view

  • Export your private view as a PNG file

You can’t delete a private view.