Manage Message Flows

Active message flows between you and your partners don’t require much maintenance. You might need to modify your message flow to:

  • Change flow identifiers, endpoints, or maps

  • Switch from a sandbox environment and reclaiming production-environment resources

  • Delete the flow when it becomes inactive

Edit Inbound Message Flows

After establishing a successful inbound message flow with your partner, you can edit the identifiers, endpoints, message types, or DataWeave maps in the flow.

Before making changes, carefully consider the impact on your existing message flow.
  1. In the navigation menu, select Message Flows.

  2. In the Message flows page, select <Message flow name>.
    The selected inbound message flow appears.

  3. In the inbound message flow, you can complete the following modifications or actions:

Subsection

Actions

Deployment Required?

Receive from <partner>

yes or no

Receiving endpoint <endpoint name>

yes or no

Source message

yes or no

Map

yes or no

Target at <host>

yes or no

  1. Verify that any modified sections of the flow show a green checkmark next to them and then click Deploy to deploy the configurations to Mule.

    It can take five minutes or so for your configuration changes to sync with Mule.
  2. To test your edited message flow, see Deploy and Test Message Flows.

After you confirm the successful deployment of your message flow, you can track its processed messages from the Activity page.

Edit Outbound Message Flows

After establishing a successful outbound message flow with your partner, you can edit the identifiers, endpoints, message types, or DataWeave maps in the flow.

Before making changes, carefully consider the impact on your existing message flow.
  1. In the navigation menu, select Message Flows.

  2. In the Message flows page, select <Message flow name>.
    The selected outbound message flow appears.

  3. In the outbound message flow, you can complete the following modifications or actions:

Subsection

Actions

Deployment Required?

Source at <host>

yes or no

Map

yes or no

Message type

yes or no

Receiving endpoint <endpoint name>

yes or no

Target at <host>

yes or no

  1. Verify that any modified sections of the flow show a green checkmark next to them and then click Deploy to deploy the configurations to Mule.

    It can take five minutes or so for your configuration changes to sync with Mule.
  2. To test your edited message flow, see Deploy and Test Message Flows.

After you confirm the successful deployment of your message flow, you can track its processed messages from the Activity page.

Delete Message Flows

You might want to delete a message flow when it no longer serves its purpose, for example, if your relationship with your partner changes.

You can delete your message flow from either a sandbox or a production environment.

If you delete a message flow before it is deployed, it does not affect the Mule apps.

For on-premises installations, you must undeploy a message flow before you can delete it.

Steps

After the undeployment is successful, you can delete the message flow:

  1. In the navigation menu, select Message Flows.

  2. Select the message flow to delete from the list and click Delete in the upper right of the screen.

Any previous transmissions that were created as a result of a message being processed by the message flow you deleted have the following behavior:

  • The transmissions continue to stay in the transmission records within the Activity page; however, the records indicate that the corresponding message flow used to process the transmission is now deleted.

  • These activities are converted into read-only mode, so no links to the message flow work.

  • Only links to the stored payloads (such as the original B2B message, any TA1 acknowledgments, the transformed payload, on so on) continue to work.

Was this article helpful?

💙 Thanks for your feedback!

Edit on GitHub